An introduction to the island nation of Vanuatu offering basic information for the traveller.

Vanuatu (or more correctly the Republic of Vanuatu), is an island nation in the South Pacific Ocean made up of 83 separate islands each with their own unique flavour and offering a wide variety of experiences to the traveller. A visitor to this beautiful archipelago has the opportunity to experience lovely beaches and a pristine underwater environment, cultural events and tribal communities, an unusual geography including accessible volcanoes or if you choose a more relaxed holiday, you can simply lay back and enjoy resort accommodation and facilities.


Vanuatu was formed from volcanic activity and several active volcanoes are accessible to visitors. The Yasur Volcano on the island of Tanna, has the reputation of being one of the world’s most accessible volcanoes and is the easiest to see. Vanuatu also claims several underwater volcanoes within its territory.

Geography and Ecology

The Vanuatu rain forests are recognised as being their own distinct eco-region. There is no other place on the planet that has rainforests quite like these. The unique blend of: isolation, tropical or sub-tropical climate, and volcanic activity have all contributed to this distinctive environment. Most of the islands are steep and have a volcanic origin.

Getting There

From Australia: 2.5 hours flying time from Brisbane and 3.5 hours from Sydney.

From New Zealand: Just over 2 hours from Auckland.

From neighbouring islands: There are regular flights from Honiara, Noumea and Fiji.
The Islands

14 of the most visited islands listed from largest to smallest.

Espiritu Santo
Ambae or Aoba
Vanua Lava
Santa Maria
Anatom or Aneityum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here